REJECTION: It’s just in your mind!

(Let me get some “house cleaning” out of the way… numerous of you asked for NO MORE funky-sized text… I hear you loud and clear… Consider it history……..)

Ever hear the word “NO”?

Several times in a row…

…And wonder why it’s sucks to feel…. “rejected”

Let me tell you a secret: “IT’S ALL IN YOUR HEAD…..”

SO….. I had relatives in town for the past 2 weeks and we decided at an hour approaching midnight to go tour the wonderful monuments of D.C. (homeless people and all…). We toured from the Washington monument past the World War 2 memorial, all the way to the Lincoln Memorial… Which is actually pretty cool at night with lights on…

(Take a look at the photo…)

I live for inspiration — that kindred belief that I can change the world like those who are now memorialized — and I found it staring at “Honest Abe”…

My 3-year old son “B-Man” (also known as Bryce…) asked me about “that guy” and I heard myself telling him how Abe was a “great man who was killed by bad people” (nothing too shocking for a little dude).

WOW!

Would people in Abe’s day define him as a great man? I think not!

  • He was rejected as a businessman – as a storekeeper he went bankrupt…
  • He was rejected as a farmer – he despised this work…
  • He was rejected in his first attempt to obtain political office…
  • When elected to the legislature he was rejected when he sought the office of speaker…
  • He was rejected in his first attempt to go to Congress…
  • He was rejected when he sought the appointment to the United States Land Office…
  • He was rejected when he ran for the United States Senate…
  • He was rejected when friends sought for him the nomination for the vice-presidency…

AND YET….

Historians consistently list “Abe” as arguably the greatest president of ALL TIME… Greater even than George Washington…

HOW? (Isn’t that the epitome of a paradox?)

I have realized this for some time now… I get shaken sometimes in the daily battle, but I firmly believe that rejection is just a head game… A state of mind. A belief system that limits our ability to rise above the challenges of a situation.

Embrace the challenge of “apparent defeat” and turn it into success…

“……every rejection is a step closer to realizing success…..” (DEWISM)

Leave a comment